The Tale of the Cursed Jersey

It was the eve of Friday, February 17 2017. My birthday.

I had just opened up the box to my final birthday present and “it” was laying there. A brand spanking new, Mitch Marner jersey.

My heart soared. This was exactly what I’ve been wishing for! But there was more to it than what met the eye. 

I wore that jersey for the rest of the night and I planned on cherishing it for the rest of my life. Or so I thought…

February 18, 2017. Hockey Night in Canada.

I got home in time to watch the final 12 minutes of the game. I rushed upstairs to put my Mitch Marner jersey on but…

The moment that jersey touched my shoulders, Ottawa scores what is now the game winning goal. Coincidence? I think not.

February 21, 2017. Versus the Winnipeg Jets.

A “friend” of mine, Roya, asks for a picture of me so that she can draw it-I mean, me. “You should take it with your new jersey on!” she says. “It will look great!” she says. It was not great. “That’s a great idea!” I text back. But the moment I press send, the TV freezes. Coincidence? I think not.

THERE’S MORE. I go to put my jersey on, but right when I press the button to take the picture, Brian Ehlers scores to give Winnipeg the lead. Coincidence? I think not.

February 23-Present Day.

The Leafs have now lost two straight and are 2-2-1 since I got the Mitch Marner jersey. And lets not forget the fact that Mitch Marner just missed his 5th consecutive game and that Bozak AND Marincin are hurt. Coincidence? I think not.

 

Leave a Reply

